Country Profile

Country Profile

Official name: Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia

Political system: Federal state with multi-party democracy

Head of state: President Girma Woldegiorgis

Head of government: Prime Minister Hailemariam Dessalegn 

Capital city: Addis Ababa

Location: Ethiopia is situated in North-Eastern part of Africa. It is bordered with the Sudan to the West, Eritrea to the North,Djibouti and Somalia to the East and Kenya to the south.

Land Area: Ethiopia covers an area of 1.14 million square kilometers.

Agricultural Land: 20% of land area in use, 56% is suitable for Agriculture

Origin GDP: Agriculture 47%, Industry 13% and services 40%

Main Exports: Coffee, Oilseeds, Pulses, Gold, flowers, leather products, live animals meat and meat products

Major Export Destinations: Europe. %, Asia. %, Africa. %, America. %, Oceania 0.5% (2007/08)

Climate: There are two major seasons. These are dry and wet seasons. The dry season prevails from October through May. The wet seasons runs from June to September.

Topography: Ethiopia is a land of natural contrasts, from the top of over 4,632 meters high rugged Semen Mountains to the depth of the Dankil Depression, which is 114 meters below sea level that makes it the lowest dry land on earth. Ethiopia has an elevated central plateau varying in height 2,000 and 3,000 meters above sea level. In the north and centre of the country, there are some 25 mountains whose peaks elevate over 4,000 meters.

Population: Ethiopia has 80 million (2007/08) peoples; around 50 percent are under 20 years of age. The average number of inhabitants per square meters is 49.

Religion: Major religions in the country are Christianity and Islam and other traditional spiritual practices exist. One prominent features of Ethiopia’s multi religious society is religious tolerance that exists among different groups.

Language: Ethiopia is a multi-ethnic state with a great variety of languages. Amharic is the working language of the Federal government. While Oromiffa and Tigrigna, and other local languages are widely spoken in the country. Moreover, English (out of which mostly spoken) French, Arabic and Italian are fairly spoken.

Calendar: Ethiopia still retains the Julian calendar which divides the year in to 12 months of 30 days each. The remaining five or six days in a leap year constitute the short 13th month of “Pagume”. The Ethiopian New Year commences on September 11th or 12th every leap year.

Working hours: Ethiopia is in the GMT+3 time zone. The government office hours are 8:30 AM to 12:30 AM and 1:30 PM to 5:30 PM from Monday through Thursday, Working hours of Friday are 8:30 AM to 11:30 AM and 1:30 PM to 5:30 PM.However, private and public businesses are often open on Saturdays as well.

Currency: The Ethiopian currency unit is Birr (ETB)


Ethiopian Pulses, Oil Seeds and Spices Processors and Exporters Association (EPOSPEA)

Tel: +251 11 662 35 45

Fax: +251 11 662 35 04

Mob: +251 914 70 33 34



Office address; Haile Gebereslassie Avenue, 22 mazoria
Rebecca building next to Axum Hotel
7th floor room # 703

Monday the 19th. Ethiopian Pulses, Oilseeds and Spices Processors Exporters Association
Powered by AFRICOM Technologies PLC
Powered by Joomla! and the Make Money Online